WildSurvive Forum
Sign in to follow this  
Guest taken by the wind...

What I've learned about survival by keeping Saltwater fish

~ These are the things I think about while performing my fish tank maintenance.  :whistle:

I've been keeping saltwater fish for many years. I love saltwater fish because they are smart. They don't just swim around and look pretty. They come to know you. Even if you're outside of their wet world... they begin to see you as a part of their environment. The fish in my tank are older than my youngest child  (and she just turned 7.) They know who feeds them, and they are always gathered at the corner of the tank, when I'm sitting at the computor.  :whistle:  Even freshwater fish do that though. The one thing that saltwater fish do, is that they recognize when strangers come into the house. When someone they don't normally see, comes into the room, they all hide. This demonstrates a high perceptive ability (for a fish.)  They ALL have to have a hiding place. They will fight to the death over a good one. They don't seem to be smart enough to know that the big predators don't come out at night in an aquarium...  it's just thousands of years of conditioning. Coral Reefs are one of the most stable environments on Earth. This hiding place obsession is important to know for those who venture into their world...   :unsure: My lights are on a timer to simulate the natural photoperiods at the equator, and I've noticed that exactly two hours before nightfall... every fish in my tank will get into their hiding place. so...

The NUMBER ONE survival skill I've learned from them, is to get out of the ocean at least two hours before sunset!  :woot: :rofl:  I'm not sure what they're hiding from... but they will fight to the death to get the best place to hide from IT.......    8|

If I think of more stuff later I'll add it.

Taken, this is so cool!  WHY do the fish hide???  And how the heck do they recognize PEOPLE???