WildSurvive Forum
negotiator

City boys lost in wilderness hike

Okay, 13 yrs ago my friend and I were lost in the Nicolet National Forest. It is 1.5 million acres of forest. We located a forgotten logging camp and trails a century old. But we were 9 hrs into the thick woods with only a bottle of Jim Beam and cooking grease. We follwed the river as best we could, but the trails  were more enticing yet led us into a mess. We had no compass to retrace our steps. We were completely lost and began hallucinating. The complete story is remarkable and horrifying, but that's not why I am posting this.

Truth is, I am a writer, and the production company is interested in my screenplay about our adventure. They request that we retrace our steps from 13yrs ago and make video confirmation that these trails and certain places still exist. It will save a ton of money on their filming budget.

I am returning with 3 friends. We are novices to camping and hiking. What will we need and what advice can you give 4 city boys to survive? How can we mark our trail, so we can retrace our steps back to camp? What happens if we encounter a mother bear?

Stuff like that.

Thanks!

It's a pleasure meeting you, negotiator!  Welcome to Wild Survive!  I have a tendency to get lost too, much to the amusement of my fellow members here, but I never fail to have an adventure!

I think your adventure sounds amazing too, and I can't wait to read about it or see the movie!  :thumbsup:

Come by the Campfire and say hello when you get a minute.  Someone is always there, poking at the fire, or poking fun at someone... :hugegrin:

I am returning with 3 friends. We are novices to camping and hiking. What will we need and what advice can you give 4 city boys to survive? How can we mark our trail, so we can retrace our steps back to camp? What happens if we encounter a mother bear?

Stuff like that.