WildSurvive Forum
Sign in to follow this  
Dark Squirrel

Super Squirrel's moose video

I awoke one morning and could hear  this strange noise.  WUNK WUNK WUNK.  Very softly.  I could hear it getting closer.  At first I thought it was a bird then it dawned on me that it was a MOOSE!. :woot:  I grabbed my camcorder and unzipped my tent door and watched the moose walk by our campsite.  Once I got stood up I started shooting video.  Man I was nervous because I knew it was mating season and the males get very irritable at this time.  I got REAL nervous when the moose turned around and started walking back towards me :scared:.  I scooted over and put a huge pine tree between me and it in case it charged I'd have something to hide behind.  I got concerned when I realized I had a friend who was in his tent that couldn't move because of a blown disk in his back.  I could just picture that moose running over the tent trying to get to me.  Maybe it could have fixed his back? :hmm:  Probably not. happy097.gif  It eventually turned and walked into the woods and I followed it around for about 10 minutes.  All the time it was keeping one eye on me.  I walked out to the main road thinking the moose was going to cross but then it turned and walked out onto the campsite road between me and my friend.  There was nothing for me to put between me and the moose so I decided if it was going to come at me I was going to jump into a drainage ditch and crawl into the culvert pipe. happy061.gif  It crossed that park and tried to cross the main road down by the park owners house.  It was there only for a few seconds then it walked back into the park and I lost soght of it.  Mark the park owner came down and told me that he saw the moose and it was the biggest one he's ever seen.  We guessed his weight at about 1500 pounds.  Mark also told me that the wunk wunk noise was their mating call. :loveu:  The video doesn't really do justice to how close it was to me.  At times it was between 15-20 ya