WildSurvive Forum
Sign in to follow this  
theking648

william joseph fishing pack.

Guest Lead Dog

I can't even cast and breathe at the same time.  You can drink while casting?

Seriously, what do you like about having a backpack over a traditional vest?  Does that pack allow better articulation for casting?  Do you keep a lot of gear with you while wading?

I'm new to fly fishing, so curious about it.  Thanks.

first off your not casting the whole time if you did that your arm would hurt come the next day... also i'm unlike most of my family i go hiking to the part of the streem i want, i don't stick close to the road.

the other thing is you WILL get dehydrated out there even though your not doing much. (i'm in utah and the summers are hot)

i do have lots of gear with me.. first the most important is my sunscreen second it my first aid kit, 1 extra real, the camelbak blader, a good knife and all my fly fishing stuff, and maybe a bottle of gatorade.

so i do carry lots of stuff, considering i'm out there for 3-4 hours every day of vacation.

also i don't wade with waders... LOL i'm redneck get an old pair of shoes and some shorts, i prefer the swiming ones so they dry fast. i don't get in the stream unless i have to cross it or the trees/bushes have over grown and i have to go through the water.. which is usally cold.

cheers,

KING

Guest Lead Dog

Cool.  I was thinking of the need to have a pack with you on the water versus a daypack that can sit on the shore while you fish.  A daypack would probably offer more room for gear and more versatility for hiking and other activities while a fishing pack would keep more gear on your person, like the water bladder.

Hey King,

You might be able to turn that pack into a nice PSK also. Little small for a BOB but would work as a survival kit. And witha bladder you definately would be able to store water if you found it. It will hold a 100 oz bladder or 72 oz bladder

ya that was part of the plan.....