WildSurvive Forum

I started my first coal burning project today.  So I am not an expert, but maybe someone can learn from my experiences and maybe mistakes.  If anyone has suggestions let me know.  But here it goes.  I will keep adding to this as I gp along.

These two are my start.  I built a good fire and added some coals.

bowl1uf5.jpg

bowl2tp3.jpg

This is me blowing on the coals. 

bowl3en5.jpg

Here it is starting to take shape.

bowl4rv7.jpg

Quick update....it has rained everyday that I could have worked on this since then.....so I am still waiting to get back outside to work some more.  I will keep everyone posted.

Thanks for that link tpahornet.  Storm does some really nice work and is not worried about showing the mistakes. Good site.

Machine, what can I say. Doing great, can't wait until it gets going again.

Thats awesome can't wait to see it finished !!!

Thanks for the link.  I have read Storm's stuff before.  I actually read this article before I started.  It made me think that even if I mess up, who cares...right.....you can learn either way.  This guy knows some stuff.  You should check out his other articles, too.  Interesting stuff. 

OK, I finally worked on this some more.  Frankly this project stinks.  My face is burnt, my hands are burnt and I have inhaled more smoke than  a chimney.  As you can see this container cracked.  Well it started that way and I am making it worse.  It was not a good piece of wood.  Oh, well, I will keep going. But here are my new pics.

bowl5wa4.jpg

bowl6xc2.jpg

:) Its looking great

Don't loose your enthusiasm. Remember that you are gainging experience and knowledge. Think what it would have felt like if you had to make this in a survival situation.

Now you know more than you did before starting this bowl.

Great work. I will be adding it as an article if you don`t mind?