WildSurvive Forum
ManvsGear

Best Camping Firearm

I think there are many advantages to owning a good all around firearm. Whether it's for protection or food in a survival situation.

I have some experience with a 30/30, but this would be overkill for more common, smaller game. I'm looking for something with a versatile chambering, that would give me some distance, protection, and ability to take smaller game if need be.

Does anyone have any experiences with particular guns that they could recommend?

Thanks!

By the time you carry the different barrels, tools, etc. you might as well carry a second or third gun.  There are two exceptions to that, that I know of.  The first is a revolver that is chambered for a .410 shotgun shell and .41 mag or .45.    The other is over and under combo, it come in many combonations, but the most common is .22/20 gauge.  Breach loading and with slug or shot you have a wide selection hunting/protection.

For a single gauge/caliber gun I would suggest a shotgun.    Find one that is comfortable to carry and shoot for you.

Check what is legal to carry in your area.

Good advice there Freebirdie.

What exactly are you looking for this gun to do you?  What are your primary concerns?

Also, feel free to go over to the welcome section and introduce youself!

Thanks for the suggestion! I'll have to look into those calibers.

I think my primary purpose in carrying a gun at this point is protection. I've had some encounters in the last few seasons that were a little too close for comfort with Bear and Elk.

The ability to hunt small game is really secondary, and would only be necessary in a true survival situation.

I like the idea of a shotgun, though most I've used are too heavy to trek around with for more than a few miles.