WildSurvive Forum
bobimbob

Re certification First Aid?

How many of us re-certify or upgrade our first aid skills on any type of regular schedual?

Before last year we had to recertify every year at my old work place, since I was a close friend of the instructor he would volonteer me to be the first responder or casualty on scene (which ever was the grossest, bless him :ranting:)

Guest adrenjunky

Granted it is what I do for a living but twice a month I am in training for EMS.

I usually resert a few months before anything is expired.  However I tend to upgrade moreoften then recert.  I'm hoping to scam a first responder course in the near future for some volenteer work in exchange.  :)

I recently became first aid and CPR certified... I hadn't done that sort of thing since I was a teenager.  I was surprised at how they had simplified CPR since I was a kid.

When I first certified it was so complicated that you had to produce in (CPR) a perfect graft that many people did not want to re-certify because of the bother. Also with so many stories of people being sued subsequent to using it, till the good samaritan laws a lot were scared to use what they had learnt. Today it is easier and if you are not perfect in your form it is better than not even attempting it at all.

But first aid and CPR are good skills to have, may even save your own life :thumbup:

Most companies are willing to sponsor certification/recertification for their employees on an annual basis.  The American Red Cross has excellent programs available for certification in many areas of first aid.  Local community colleges also have certification classes. 

I am a big proponent of first aid training, having used it on several occasions throughout my life.  If I didn't have Heimlich training, my daughter Ashley wouldn't be here today!!!

Hi all:

We recertify annually for standard First Aid,AED & CPR at my job. I'm on the ERT there & they get us really good training.