WildSurvive Forum
Sign in to follow this  
Swede

Les Stroud Live

I told myself if Les ever came to Illinois or close by I would go to try to meet him in person. I had some things I wanted to say from 14 years ago when I was an administrator in his original forum. I finally got my chance and it couldnt have been any better.

Les booked a place in East St Louis about four hour drive from our farm. Pops is located in an old part of town in Sauget Il. next to a strip club and a gas refinery and factories. Random gun fire isnt out of the question. However it was a Thursday night and the natives were not as restless as a weekend so it was pretty quiet.

svknnQ.jpg

Our problem with Pops is the seating arrangements. We had to sit on bar stools for three hours. Now some of you guys may be more used to it but my ass hurt all the way up to my head plus falling off wasnt out of the question for a 70 year old man.  :scared:

hyVtIy.jpg

We went to see Survivorman and saw a very accomplished musician. We forget Les started out playing in bands around the country.  He has shared the stage with the topS in the business, including Alice Cooper, Steven Stills, Tommy Shaw, Robbie Krieger, Blues Traveler, Tesla, Jacob Dylan, Chicago and The Roots. The music was very good and his harmonica playing was excellent and the band consisting of base guitar. lead guitar and drums  all very accomplished musicians. Les plays a mean guitar and lead singer. They can play some pretty hard rock, blues and ballads mixed and I could here it pretty good in fact a block away would work.  :o  My beer kept vibratring off the table. ( I lied about the beer we didnt drink)  :P Les truly enjoys playing on stage and his band do to. You can tell buy the smiles on their faces while they play.

qjKqZE.jpg